Living up to the hype…

Unlike Disney World, your favorite restaurant, or the movie you’ve been dying to see for months…. It’s not always a good thing when something meets your expectations.

Example: People

How often have you had a negative preconceived notion of someone? How many times has it come true? Or maybe it’s a justified notion, gained from experience.

It’s so easy to be disappointed in someone’s actions…. which often gets confused with being disappointed in someONE. My students will often ask me (after they’ve found themselves in trouble) if I’m upset or disappointed in them. I always answer the same: I could never be disappointed in you, I’m disappointed in your choices. I want them to realize that their choices don’t define who they are as a person. I also want them to realize that they made their choices… It was a choice…. that led to certain consequences, and I would have hoped they’d made a different choice. I often use that moment to discuss what other choices they could have made that might have had a better outcome.

Now… that works great with second graders. Unfortunately it’s not as easy with adults. We feel that they should be held more accountable….be more responsible…wiser…and they should. Right?

Why is it easier for us to forgive children, pets, or even those who are easier to love? Because let’s be honest…. there are people in our lives who are easier to love than others.

And why is it such a rotten yet, sinfully satisfying feeling when we’ve been proven right? When someone lived up to just what we expected of them? And why is it so much easier to focus on the times when people negatively “live up to the hype” than the positive times?

We’re all broken….continuous sinners… and gosh, isn’t it so easy to categorize those sins as better/worse than others?!

As I mentioned in a past post… I don’t make resolutions… but I would challenge myself (and you!!) to practice grace this year…. Grace without stipulations. Grace without exceptions. Grace without judgement (Both of my fingers are pointed at myself right now.)

I’m not making a resolution. Ok, maybe I am.

I’m challenging myself to practice grace.

And knowing I will fail…. I also challenge myself to remember this verse throughout the year:

“And so, Lord, where do I put my hope? My only hope is in you.” – Psalm 39:7

Here is to a gracious 2014!

One thought on “Living up to the hype…

  1. Abby says:

    I completely agree with this post. I believe it is a challenge all of us face. Especially, when it come to understanding being disappointed in someone and bein disappointed in their choice. I think this post is very well written. Keep up the good work. 😉

Leave a Reply

