Nails :: Spotlight 1

What girl doesn’t love taking in some time at the local spa?
It’s so relaxing after a long week to indulge in some pampering. My local favorite nail spa even serves up wine and champagne! It’s more than getting your polish changed… it’s the experience.

However, if you’re like me:
1. My nails grow so fast that I have to go weekly to get them “filled” or my Shellac changed.
2. I’m a teacher and work an insane amount of hours and who has time to go to the nail spa every week? Not me.

And since I signed up for both Birchbox and Ipsy a few months ago I’ve been getting a lot of nail polish samples. I decided it would save me some time (and $$$) to start doing them myself occasionally.

…. well I’m kind of obsessed with it now.

I’ve been checking out tutorials on Pinterest and trying them out each week. Sometimes I keep it simple with one or two colors but I’ve been getting brave and trying out polka dots lately and have been getting lots of compliments on them! There’s just something exciting about getting complimented on your nails and being able to say, “Thanks! I did them myself!”

Now I’m not sure how much time I’m really saving by doing them at home…. but when it’s 9:30/10:00 at night and I finally have time… the nail salon isn’t open. So does it save time? Mehhh. Is it more convenient? Definitely. Plus, it’s fun!

So I told myself I would start documenting the different styles I do each week.

This week I used two nail polish samples. One from Birchbox this month and one from Ipsy a few months ago.

20140202-142545.jpg

I used Ruby Wing in Ride ‘Em Cowgirl color changing nail polish for all my nails other than my ring finger nails.

20140202-142937.jpg

I used Nailtini in Champagne for my ring finger.

20140202-143050.jpg

Typically I would have done a solid color on the majority of my nails and used the sparkle for my ring finger but I really like the way it turned out. I like that the Ruby Wing polish is light and I can layer it until I get the coverage I’m wanting. It’s gold inside and a copper color in the sun. I used the Nailtini Champagne color because it compliments both shades of the Ruby Wing polish plus it goes on great!. It has a wide brush and goes on so smoothly! However, I haven’t actually seen the Ruby Wing polish change colors yet. I’m not sure if it’s because it’s been so overcast and gloomy here the past few days and the sun hasn’t been out, or if the polish just doesn’t change colors well. I’ll keep you updated.

20140202-143731.jpg

Regardless I really like both products and will definitely put them into my color rotations!

Happy nail painting!!

Leave a Reply

